Skip to main content
COVID-19 information and screening Learn how we’re keeping our campus community safe, healthy and engaged during our gradual return to campus.
Note: The university’s mandatory vaccine directive is now in effect. Learn more about vaccine requirements.
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Research Chairs

Our faculty members engage in projects following six strategic research and training priorities. This includes:

  • Eleven Canada Research Chairs.
  • Two Industrial Research Chairs.
  • Two Endowed and Honorific Research Chair.
  • Two Ontario Tech University Research Excellence Chairs.
  • A strong cross-pollination of undergraduate and graduate students involved in research and collaborations with business, community and government partners.

Canada Research Chairs

The Government of Canada created the Canada Research Chairs (CRC) program in 2000 to establish 2,000 research professorships at universities across the country by 2008. We have attracted the best and brightest minds from all over the world. These individuals help enrich our research capabilities; Chairholders are recognized for their commitment to advancing the frontiers of knowledge in their fields, not only through their own work but through the teaching and supervising of students and the co-ordination of work by other researchers.

Ontario Tech U is committed to the principles of Equity, Diversity and Inclusivity (EDI) in all matters, including in the selection and renewal of CRCs.  Ontario Tech allows for only one renewal of a CRC and the renewals are not automatic, instead following a competitive process.  One renewal criterion is that the candidate shows “Demonstrated commitment to priorities in the Ontario Tech's CRC Equity, Diversity and Inclusiveness Action Plan” (Renewal of Canada Research Chairs Procedure, s3..15).

More information and full details on the process are available in our Canada Research Chair Recruitment Procedure and our Renewal of Canada Research Chairs Procedure.  Questions can be directed to

Pierre Côté, PhD

Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Disability Prevention and Rehabilitation

Faculty of Health Sciences
905.721.8668 ext.2629

Adam Dubrowski
Adam Dubrowski, PhD

Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Health-Care Simulation

Faculty of Health Sciences
905.721.8668 ext.6221

Khalid Elgazzar, PhD

Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in the Internet of Things (IoT)

Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
905.721.8668 ext. 7365

Horia Hangan
Horia Hangan, PhD

Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Adaptive Aerodynamics

Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science

Janette Hughes, PhD

Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Technology and Pedagogy

Faculty of Education
905.721.8668 ext. 2875

Peter Lewis
Peter Lewis, PhD

Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Trustworthy Artificial Intelligence

Faculty of Business and Information Technology
905.721.8668 ext. 3577

Isabel Pedersen, PhD

Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Digital Life, Media and Culture

Faculty of Social Science and Humanities
905.721.8668 ext. 5874

Markus Piro
Markus Piro, PhD

Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Nuclear Fuel and Materials

Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science
905.721.8668 ext. 5525

Denina Simmons, PhD

Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Aquatic Biology

Faculty of Science
905.721.8668 ext. 5310

Sheldon Willianson
Sheldon Williamson, PhD

Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Electric Energy Storage Systems for Transportation Electrification

Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
905.721.8668 ext. 5744