Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Invited Speakers & Panelists


Kirk Atkinson
Ontario Tech



Canon Bryan
Terrestrial Energy


Alina Constantin


Ibrahim Dincer
Ontario Tech


Jerry Hopwood


Sonia Iqbal



Wes Johnsen
Bruce Power


Xianguo Li


Carlos Lorencez


Sam McDemott



Célestin Piette


Igor Pioro
Ontario Tech


Chad Richards
Nuclear Innovation Institute


Ry Smith
Change Energy


William Smith
Terrestrial Energy


Hadid Subki


Alan Tan
Next Hydrogen


Elina Teplinsky