Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Contacts

We build meaningful relationships with industry, government and community partners that provide actionable results. Connect with us at any time to explore potential opportunities for collaboration. 

2021 Fall Update:  The Office of Research Services will continue to primarily work remotely.  To contact any of our staff with questions or for assistance, please use the email addresses indicated below instead of the telephone extensions.

Our normal business hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday.

Office of the Vice-President Research and Innovation 

Les Jacobs, PhD, FRSC
Vice-President Research, Innovation 
les.jacobs@ontariotechu.ca

Energy Systems and Nuclear Science Research Centre (ERC), Room 2062
ext. 3267
Vivianne Sharpe, BA
Senior Executive Assistant
vivianne.sharpe@ontariotechu.ca
ERC, Room 2064
ext. 5420
General inquiries for Office of the Vice-President Research and Innovation
vpri@ontariotechu.ca
ext. 5420
Brilliant Energy Institute
Jacquie Hoornweg, MCM, ABC
Executive Director, Brilliant Energy Institute
Jacquie.hoornweg@ontariotechu.ca
ERC 2038
ext. 5480
Kelly Ogle  ERC 2037
Rami El-Emam
Research Associate, International Atomic Energy Collaborating Centre
rami.elemam@ontariotechu.ca
ERC 2039
ext. 5554
Office of Research Services
Jennifer Freeman, MSc
Executive Director, Research Services
jennifer.freeman@ontariotechu.ca
Campus Corners, Room 2310
ext. 3176
Vacant
Research Business Analyst
Campus Corners, Room 2320
ext. 6230
Elisa Beverley, BSc
Administrative Assistant
elisa.beverley@ontariotechu.ca
Campus Corners, Room 2311
ext. 3692
Kaitlynn Gambier
Administrative Assistant
kaitlynn.gambier@ontariotechu.ca 

Campus Corners, Room 2311
ext. 6138

General inquiries for the Office of Research Services
research@ontariotechu.ca
ext. 3692
Grant Development

Laura Rendl, PhD
Manager, Grants and Funding Programs
laura.rendl@ontariotechu.ca

Campus Corners, Room 2321
ext. 6244

Raluca Dubrowski, PhD
Grants Officer
raluca.dubrowski@ontariotechu.ca

Faculties:
  • Health Sciences
  • Science

Campus Corners, Room 2323
ext. 5307

Joanne Hui, PhD
Grants Officer
joanne.hui@ontariotechu.ca

Faculties:

  • Energy Systems and Nuclear Science
  • Engineering and Applied Science

 

vacant
Grants Officer

 

Kamla Ross McGregor, MA
Grants Officer
kamla.rossmcgregor@ontariotechu.ca

Faculties:
  • Business and IT
  • Education
  • Social Science and Humanities
Campus Corners, Room 2324
ext. 6584

Ewa Stewart, MA
Grants Officer
ewa.stewart@ontariotechu.ca

On Leave
Entrepreneurship

Osman Hamid, BComm, EdD, MBA
Director, Creativity and Entrepreneurship, Brilliant Catalyst
osman.hamid@ontariotechu.ca 

ERC, Room 2065
ext. 5440

Connor Loughlean, BA (Hons)
Manager, Creativity
connor.loughlean@ontariotechu.ca

ERC, Room 2034
ext. 2380
Jason Muloonga, BSc (Eng)
Special Projects Officer, Brilliant Catalyst
jason.muloonga@ontariotechu.ca
ERC, Room 2034
ext. 6522
vacant
Program Coordinator, Brilliant Catalyst
General inquiries for Entrepreneurship:
brilliant@ontariotechu.ca
Partnerships, Intellectual Property and Innovation

Danielle Saney, PhD
Manager, Research Partnerships
Danielle.saney@ontariotechu.ca

Faculties:
  • Health Sciences
  • Science
Campus Corners, Room 2313
ext. 6229

Julia Armstrong, MA
Research Partnerships Officer
julia.armstrong@ontariotechu.ca

Faculties:
  • Business and Information Technology
  • Energy Systems and Nuclear Science
  • Engineering and Applied Science

 Campus Corners, Room 2315
ext. 3579

Felipe Rubio, PhD
Research Partnerships Officer
felipe.rubio@ontariotechu.ca

Faculties:
  • Education
  • Social Science and Humanities
  • TeachingCity Oshawa
  • City Idea Lab
  • CityStudio Durham

 

Alla Darwish, MBA, PhD
Intellectual Property Officer
alla.darwish@ontariotechu.ca

Faculties:
  • Science
  • Engineering and Applied Science

Campus Corners, room CC 2314
ext. 3786

Justin Gammage, PhD
Senior Executive Advisor for Strategic Research Priorities and Industry Collaborations
justin.gammage@ontariotechu.ca

ACE 4020
cell 905.441.6968 
General inquiries for Partnerships
researchpartnerships@ontariotechu.ca
Contracts

Candi Thayer, JD
Legal Counsel, Research 
candi.thayer@ontariotechu.ca

Campus Corners, Room 2312
ext. 6185

Aleli Bernardino, JD
Research Contracts Officer
maria-aleli.bernardino@ontariotechu.ca

Gary Larsen, MA
Research Contracts Officer
gary.larsen@ontariotechu.ca

General Inquiries 
contact: researchpartnerships@ontariotechu.ca

Research Ethics, Compliance and Safety
Francis Arnaldo, MSc, CRPA(R)
Biosafety and Radiation Safety Officer
francis.arnaldo@ontariotechu.ca
Campus Corners, Room 2316
ext. 6316
Fabiola Limón Bravo, MA
Research Ethics Coordinator
Fabiola.limonbravo@ontariotechu.ca
Campus Corners, Room 2319
ext. 6192
Janice Moseley, BSc
Research Ethics Officer
janice.moseley@ontariotechu.ca
Campus Corners, Room 2317
ext. 3693
General inquiries for Research Ethics and Compliance
researchethics@ontariotechu.ca

For information on Graduate Programs/Research, contact the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies at gradstudies@ontariotechu.ca.

For information on International, contact international@ontariotechu.ca.