Skip to main content

Radiation and Laser Safety Committee

The Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) ensures oversight for radiation and laser safety and is responsible for maintaining the integrity of the university's Consolidated Radioisotope License. The responsibility of the Committee includes all sources of ionizing radiation and non-ionizing radiation, for all uses (materials and equipment), on properties owned or controlled by the university. The RSC also has responsibility to users of ionizing or non-ionizing radiation that perform work off campus for university related business.  The RSC:

  • Establishes and enforces policies and procedures regarding the use of ionizing radiation and radioisotopes on campus.
  • Reviews and oversees health and safety programs related to the uses of radiation in the research and teaching programs.
  • Issues internal radiation permits.
  • Monitors all uses of radiation and radioisotopes to ensure compliance with the appropriate regulations. 

For more information on the Ontario Tech Radiation Safety Program, please visit the Health and Safety webpage or contact the Biosafety and Radiation Safety Officer.


To protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment, the university must adhere to the radiation safety requirements, mostly set forth by the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and the Ontario Occupational Health and Safety Act.  Other relevant regulatory requirements include, but are not limited to: