Skip to main content
COVID-19 information and screening Learn how we’re keeping our campus community safe, healthy and engaged during our gradual return to campus.
Note: Faculty, staff, students and visitors must complete the mandatory screening questionnaire before coming to campus.
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

2022 NSERC CREATE Internal Selection Results

For the 2022 competition, Ontario Tech was allocated a quota of two LOIs that can be submitted to NSERC. The Office of Research Services received seven LOIs for this year’s competition. On April 7th, the LOIs were reviewed by a multi-disciplinary internal selection committee. The committee was formed by the VPRI based on recommendations of the Deans, and included members from Faculties representing all of the lead applicants, and a representative from SGPS. Based on the committee’s recommendations, two LOIs were approved by the VPRI to move forward with submission to NSERC.

Committee Members:

  • Jeremy Bradbury, Associate Dean, School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
  • Lixuan Lu, Associate Professor, Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science
  • Atef Mohany, Associate Professor, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Ken Pu, Associate Professor, Faculty of Science
  • Ying Zhu, Associate Professor, Faculty of Business and Information Technology