Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Research Ethics Board Members

2020-2021 

Dr. Ruth Milman (Chair)

Associate Professor
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
ruth.milman@ontariotechu.ca

Dr. Paul Yielder (Vice-Chair)

Associate Professor
Faculty of Health Sciences
paul.yielder@ontariotechu.ca

Joeann Argue

Community Member

Dr. Rob Balogh

Associate Professor
Faculty of Health Sciences
robert.balogh@ontariotechu.ca

Dr. Jeremy Bradbury

Associate Professor
Faculty of Science
jeremy.bradbury@ontariotechu.ca

Dr. Ginny Brunton

Associate Professor
Faculty of Health Sciences
ginny.brunton@ontariotechu.ca

Sylvia Coleman

Community Member 

Susan Donaldson

Community Member

Dr. Aziz Douai

Associate Professor
Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities
aziz.douai@ontariotechu.ca

Dr. Joe Eastwood

Associate Professor
Faculty of Social Science and Humanities
joseph.eastwood@ontariotechu.ca

Dr. Ying (Annie) Jiang

Associate Professor
Faculty of Business and Information Technology
ying.jiang@ontariotechu.ca

Dr. Tanya Karam-Zanders

Adjunct Professor
Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities
tanya.karam-zanders@ontariotechu.ca

Tina Li

Legal & Community Representative

Dr. Jennifer McKellar

Associate Professor
Faculty of Engineering Systems and Nuclear Science
jennifer.mckellar@ontariotechu.ca

Dr. Efrosini Papaconstantinou

Associate Professor
Faculty of Health Sciences
efrosini.papaconstantinou@ontariotechu.ca

Diane Tepylo

Assistant Teaching Professor
Faculty of Education
diane.tepylo@ontariotechu.ca

Joan Young 

Community Member