Skip to main content
COVID-19 information and screening Learn how we’re keeping our campus community safe, healthy and engaged during our gradual return to campus.
Note: Faculty, staff, students and visitors must complete the mandatory screening questionnaire before coming to campus.
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

2021 CFI JELF Internal Call for Proposals - Results

Ontario Tech’s institutional envelope for the 2021 CFI JELF Internal Call for Proposals is $400,000.  The Office of Research Services received eight proposals with a CFI funding ask of over $1.4M.  On March 5th applications were reviewed by a multi-disciplinary internal committee. The committee was recruited based on the recommendations of the Deans, with preference for Associate or Full Professors, and/or those with CFI experience/success.  The committee was impressed with the quality of all of this year’s applications and made their funding recommendations to the Vice-President Research and Innovation (VPRI) based on the specified assessment criteria, which mirror the CFI’s evaluation criteria. Based on the committee’s recommendations and the funding available, three proposals were approved by the VPRI to submit an application to the CFI.

Committee Members:

  • Dr. Bin Chang
  • Dr. Mark Green
  • Dr. Brendan MacDonald
  • Dr. Lindsay Malloy
  • Dr. Eleodor Nichita
  • Dr. Heather Sprenger