Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

2018 Research Excellence Chairs Program results

The program was highly competitive overall. The Office of Research Services has provided program statistics below for information.

Total number of applications received to  the Research Excellence Chairs program:  8
Total number of awards granted: 2

Research Excellence Chairs Program recipients

  • Brad Easton, Ph.D., Professor and Associate Dean of Graduate Studies, Faculty of Science (FSci): 2018 Research Excellence Chair in Electrochemical Energy Materials
  • Carolyn McGregor, Ph.D., Professor, Faculty of Business and Information Technology (FBIT): 2018 Research Excellence Chair in Health Informatics

The award consists of $30,000 per year for three years (non-renewable). The Research Excellence Chairs will be honoured at an appreciation ceremony highlighting the scholarly accomplishments of the recipients. The recipients will be permanently recognized on a plaque displayed in the Office of the Vice‐President Research, Innovation and International. 

The decision was made by a multi‐disciplinary Selection Committee formed by the Vice-President Research, Innovation and International (VPRII). 


  • Douglas Holdway, Ph.D., Interim Vice-President Research, Innovation and International

Voting members:

  • Salma Karray, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Associate Dean, Research, FBIT
  • Pierre Côté, Ph.D., Canada Research Chair in Disability Prevention and Rehabilitation, and Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Leigh Harkins, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director, Forensic Psychology, Faculty of Social Science and Humanities
  • Lorayne Robertson, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Faculty of Education
  • Markus Piro, Ph.D., Canada Research Chair in Nuclear Fuels and Materials and Assistant Professor, Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science
  • Ibrahim Dincer, Ph.D., Professor, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Sean Forrester, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Director, FSci


  • Jennifer Freeman, Director of Research Services, Office of the VPRII
  • Colleen McKay, Grants Officer, Office of the VPRII
  • Lisa Kozycz, Grants Officer, Office of the VPRII