Skip to main content

The Future of Smart Communities

Urbanization is accelerating at an unprecedented rate and will place increasing pressure on the environment, resources and services of municipalities. The mass movement of people to urban centres will demand smart development: communities that are instrumented, integrated and intelligent. the University of Ontario Institute of Technology's second-annual Futures Forum will initiate discussion on strategies for developing smarter communities that are socially inclusive, innovative, digitally enabled, and economically and culturally robust.


Thursday, May 5
9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
(Continental breakfast and registration from 8 to 9 a.m.)


University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Science Building, Founding Deans Atrium
2000 Simcoe Street North
Oshawa, Ontario


The forum will consist of three themes, which will run concurrently throughout the day:

  • Innovation
  • Mobility
  • Energy